20 minutes to break into my own home…

Weeelll… It’s been a while since I’ve last posted (10 days, geez) and visit count’s showing it. In some way what happenned tonight might be a blessing in disguise to save what’s left of this blog. But it sure didn’t seem like that to me earlier this evening.

I had one of those hectic days. Wake up, go to the palace (see the royal blog for what we were up to), then go to work (yes, the business I’ve gotten my weirdo ass into is getting of the ground and there’ll be an official opening of the store this saturday – more blog material, huzzah!), come home, nibble some food, go to the VIP office to send some important e-mails because my local ISP decided to choke to take out our connection for a walk in the park, then fortune graced me and I went to a pizza with a very lovely friend of mine (went to Pizza Hut – nice atmosphere, crappy menu). I was starting to think this was one good evening when I had the luck to catch the last bus home too (technically it caught me as I was walking home, but hey).

But then I got home… To find that my mom has – yet again – locked the door and left the key turned about 45 degrees in the door. So I knock. No answer. I kick. No answer. I shout and thump. No bloody answer. I call the ringer like a lunatic freshly escaped from a sanatorium (metal music screamign in my MP3 player). No answer. I called her on the phone continuosly (starting to really hate that robot voice that shoos you off after a while). Still no bloody answer. Eventually I start playing on the lock from the outside, trying to turn the key in place so I could then push it out of the lock into the house, to then unlock with my own key. I tried using my own keys but to no avail. The lock is pretty smartly made so you cannot insert something in the key hole, the inside key comes out of the keyhole and into an empty space between the lock itself and the door edge. So you need something as big as the key’s cirumference that can grab it and twist it (key’s sections is liek a cross, so it ain’t exactly easy). Then I remebered I had one of those pliable little scissors with me (so many uses I’ve found for these) and I used those. After about 10 more minutes of fiddling around I actually managed to turn the key enough and it finally gave and I pushed it out and unlocked the door. At this point I wonder who was more relieved – me for not having to start calling people to ask for a place to crash or my neighbours for being allowed to go back to sleep. I stormed straight into my mom’s bedroom, turned on the top lights (which she rarely ever uses – they’re very powerful) only to get one of those “why did you bother me, I’m doing something very important here, go back to your silly games” looks from my sleepy mom. Like she had been working for the past 20 minutes and my noise disturbed her concentration. Surprisingly, considering I was angry enough to crush kittens under my boot, I couldn’t scream at her. I was simply stunned by her obliviousness.

Now I’m sitting here and thinking…. If that little sortie of mine for a pizza wouldn’t have shone some light on a head-ache inducing day, what would I have done? Guess I better hope she’ll go out with me again…

Leave a Reply

